Compose LA: Spider Web by Nicole Mitchell & Josh Kun

In this performance curated by Clockshop, composer-flutist Nicole Mitchell and scholar Josh Kun will explore visionary and reflective glitches between the 1970s and pre-apocalyptic Southern California in an exploration of race, and the politics of human life. Fictionally based on Mitchell’s experiences with racism as a young girl moving to Anaheim, with glimpses into a future climate meltdown through her mother’s communication with the spirit world, the piece uses music and text to explore Mitchell’s family history against the backdrop of O.C.’s ongoing history of anti-blackness and Los Angeles’s ongoing history of Black musical radicalism and experimental musical thinking. Titled Spider Web, this piece is born of Mitchell and Kun’s mutual interests in music as a language of social reckoning and social action, and music as a way of coming to grips with the limits and possibilities of place.

Compose LA is a city-wide initiative of the Department of Cultural Affairs that showcases LA’s leading contemporary composers and scholars. This program is produced in collaboration with American Composers Forum of Los Angeles, the University of California Humanities Research Institute at UC Irvine, the Center for Music Innovation at The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music, and several curatorial partners throughout the city.

Saturday, February 9, 2019 | 6–8PM
2806 Clearwater Street, 
Los Angeles, CA

Doors & bar 6PM | Performance 7PM