WATCH – Kennedy Center Honors: Norman Lear Among Recipients

For the 40th consecutive year, the Kennedy Center Honors Gala will celebrate notable American artists; the 2017 honorees include American television writer and producer Norman Lear, American dancer and choreographer Carmen de Lavallade, Cuban-American singer-songwriter and actress Gloria Estefan, American hip hop artist and entertainment icon LL Cool J and American musician and record producer Lionel Richie.

Mr. Lear acknowledged the honor on his Facebook page by saying, “I couldn’t be more excited to be among this year’s Kennedy Center honorees. If anything can bring us hope and encouragement in these difficult times, it has to be the arts and humanities.”

Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein said, “The Kennedy Center Honors spotlights the extraordinary careers of five artists whose talent and ingenuity have enriched and shaped cultural life in America.” Rubenstein added that “Norman Lear spoke to the human condition and sparked poignant cultural conversations with some of the most epochal TV sitcoms of the 20th century.”

Kennedy Center Honors Gala 
Tuesday, December 26 | 9:00PM ET
CBS Television Network