Walter Cronkite Award: Watch the Symposia

Learn How to Make Great Political Television from Winners of the Walter Cronkite Award

One of the remarkable components of the Cronkite Awards is the symposium all winners are invited to attend before the awards luncheon, where they exchange reporting experiences, discuss smart uses of emerging technologies and recount the hurdles and triumphs of their election coverage.

2017 Panel Discussion “Enemies of the People?”

Featuring Jorge Ramos, Jake TapperKaty Tur and Brian Stelter, moderated by Lear Center Director Marty Kaplan. READ THE FULL TRANSCRIPT.

2015 Symposium

Lear Center Director Marty Kaplan moderated the 2015 Walter Cronkite Awards Symposium at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The panelists included (l to r) Amy Mitchell, Director of Journalism Research for the Pew Research Center; Michael Copps, Common Cause Media and Democracy Reform Initiative & former FCC Commissioner; Suzanne Marmion, News Director, KPBS (San Diego): Josh Hinkle, Executive Producer, In-depth & Investigative Content, KXAN (Austin); Jonathan Shelly, News Director, WDSU (New Orleans); Candy Altman, Vice President of News, Hearst Station Group; Kyle Clark, Political Reporter, KUSA (Denver); Brandon Rittiman, Political Reporter, KUSA (Denver); Mike Lowe, Political ReporterWITI (Milwaukee); Amita Sharma, Investigative Reporter, KPBS (San Diego); Maria Elena Salinas, Univision News Anchor; and Dina Gusovsky, Reporter,

2013 Symposium

In 2013, the moderator for the Walter Cronkite Awards Symposium was Geneva Overholser, Director, USC Annenberg School of Journalism.

The panelists were as follows (l to r): Marshall Zelinger, reporter for KMGH (Denver); Tom McKee, reporter for WCPO (Cincinnati); Karla Hult, reporter for KARE (Minneapolis)l Scott Thuman, anchor for WJLA, NewsChannel8, POLITICO; Brandon Rittiman, political reporter for KUSA (Denver); Elbert Tucker, news director for WBNS (Columbus); David Chalian, the vice president of video programming for WJLA, NewsChannel8, POLITICO; Greg Lane, president of TVW (Olympia); Candy Altman, the vice president of news for Hearst Station Group; Wayne Lynch, news director for Northwest Cable News (Seattle); Loretha Jones, the president of original programming for BET; and Daniel Morcate, the chief managing editor of Univision.

2011 Symposium

For many of this year’s recipients, it was their first win of a Cronkite Award. Gwen Ifill accepted on behalf of the PBS NewsHour. Other winners included KOMO 4 TV in Seattle, KSL-TV in Salt Lake City, WISN TV in Milwaukee and Central Florida News 13. Christina Boomer from KNXV-ABC in Phoenix, AZ, won for individual achievement.

2009 Symposium

In April 2009, winners Greg Fox, George Stephanopoulis, Jo Wan, Katie Couric, David Brancaccio, and news directors and reporters from KING-TV (Seattle), WGAL (Lancaster, PA), News-8 Austin, Wisconsin Public Television and Hearst-Argyle Television sat down for a thrilling discussion moderated by Lear Center director Marty Kaplan.

2007 Symposium

In 2007, Lear Center director Marty Kaplan moderated the symposium with Cronkite Award winners.

2005: A Conversation with Walter Cronkite

Legendary broadcaster Walter Cronkite spoke with students shortly before the 2005 awards ceremony.

At the awards ceremony, Mr. Cronkite gave remarks honoring winners of the 2005 USC Annenberg Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Television Political Journalism.