2018 Winner: Kathleen Hall Jamieson

Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Professor of Communication at the University of Pennsylvania and Director of its Annenberg Public Policy Center, received the 2018 Ev Rogers Award. She delivered a colloquium on March 5 focusing on how Russian trolls and hackers exploited US media routines and social media structures in order to sow discord, undermine Hillary Clinton’s candidacy and bolster Donald Trump’s electoral prospects.

WATCH Dr. Jamieson’s full Rogers Award Colloquium:

READ a transcript of the colloquium.

UPDATE: Dr. Jamieson discusses her new book, “Cyberwar: How Russian Hackers and Trolls Helped Elect a President—What We Don’t, Can’t, and Do Know,” with the New Yorker‘s Jane Mayer

READ AN EXCERPT from her new book at The Daily Beast

Dr. Jamieson is a guest on KCRW’s To The Point, with Warren Olney, to discuss her book.

A pioneer in the fact check movement, Jamieson is a widely sought-after authority on the ways the public gets its political information as well as the impact of political ads on public attitudes. She co-created two nonpartisan websites that monitor and aim to reduce deception and confusion in US politics, FlackCheck.org and FactCheck.org, which became a central resource for the 2016 presidential campaign. The author or co-author of 15 books, including Packaging the Presidency, Eloquence in an Electronic Age, Spiral of Cynicism and Presidents Creating the Presidency, Jamieson is a frequent media commentator on topics including fake news, political spin and how the media covers elections.

The award honors the late Everett M. Rogers, a professor at the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism who originated diffusion of innovation theory and introduced the term “early adopters.” Presented since 2007 on behalf of USC Annenberg by its Norman Lear Center, the award recognizes outstanding scholars and practitioners whose work has made a fundamental contribution to areas of Rogers’s legacy.

Read the full press release.